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Missing Person 

AUTHORIZATION TO RELEASE DENTAL RECORDS 
Instructions: 

Under Montana law, MCA 44-2-401, any person who reports a missing person to a Montana Police 

Department, Sheriff's office, or other law enforcement authority must be given a copy of this 

Authorization to Release Dental Records form. 

 

If a person is still missing 30 days after a missing person report was filed, this Authorization to Release Dental 

Records form may be signed by a relative of the missing person and taken to the missing person’s dentist.  The 

dentist shall release the dental records, or copies of the records, to the relative. The relative must then submit 

the dental records to the investigating law enforcement agency within 10 days. 

 

If no relative exists, the investigating law enforcement agency may execute a signed written declaration 

stating that an investigation into the location of the missing person is being conducted and that the 

dental records may be necessary to the investigation. A dentist shall release the missing person's dental 

records upon presentation of the declaration. 

 

Missing Person Information: 

 

 

Name     Date of Birth   Date of Last Contact 

 

 
Investigating Agency       Case Number 

 

 
Investigating Officer       Telephone Number 

 

Authorization to Release Dental Records: 

I am the parent/legal guardian/next of kin of the above-named missing person and I hereby authorize 

the release of dental records to assist criminal justice agencies in locating this missing person.   

 

 
Signature of Parent/Legal Guardian/Next of Kin    Date 

 

 
Printed Name        Relationship to Missing Person 

 

 
Address        Telephone Number 


