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Original license plates cannot be validated if they duplicate a license plate number currently in use. 

A Montana Highway Patrol trooper must complete this section. 
Plate Number Plate Year of Issuance Plate Colors Plate Size 

Tab Number Tab Year of Issuance Tab Colors Use separate paper 
for remarks. 

All original Montana license plates must be displayed in sets. (Exception: A vehicle manufactured in 1948, 1949, or 
1950 may display a single plate.) Have both plates been inspected?   Yes   No 
I certify that I have physically inspected these license plates and determined that they are legible, original Montana 
license plates and will be visible at night. 

Signature of MHP Trooper Printed Name of MHP Trooper Badge Number Date 

Applicant must complete this section (MCA 61-3-411, 61-3-412, and 61-3-413). 
If the vehicle was manufactured in 1948, 1949, or 1950, is this a request to display a single plate? (check one) 

 Yes   No 

Will this vehicle be used for general transportation? (check one) 
 Yes: Submit all paperwork to your county treasurer’s office for permanent registration. 
 No:  Submit all paperwork with a fee of $30, plus any applicable fees listed below, to the Title and Registration 

Bureau. Make check payable to State of Montana. 
• If a single plate is requested, include the antique registration fee: $5 for vehicles 2850 pounds unladen

weight and under; $10 for vehicles 2851 pounds unladen weight and over.
• If transferring ownership of a title, submit all properly-completed title and transfer documents with a fee of

$12 ($10 for trailers or motorcycles).
• If a temporary registration permit has been obtained, include the permit fee of $3.

Year Make/Manufacturer Model Body Style/Length 

Vehicle/Vessel Identification Number Title Number Color 

Vehicle Owner (print name) 

Street Address 

City State Zip Code 

If you are retaining the seller's original license plates, the following statement must be completed by the seller: 

I (seller) relinquish original license plates   to  (buyer) 

Signature of Seller   Date 

Printed Name of Seller 

Under penalty of law (MCA 45-7-203), I certify that the statements made and information contained on this form are 
true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information, and belief; I am the person named on this form; and, if 
signing for a business entity or trust, I have full authority to do so. 

Applicant Signature (this is my legal signature) Date 

Printed Name of Applicant DL/FEIN/Tribal ID/Corp ID* 

*DL-Driver License Number; FEIN-Federal Employer Identification Number; Tribal ID-Tribal ID card; Corp. ID-Corporate Identification Number

Montana county and state authorities reserve the right to reject any form that has been altered. 
MV97 (2/16) This form is available in alternate formats for people with disabilities.

mailto:mvdtitleinfo@mt.gov

	Application to Display Original Montana License Plates
	Title and Registration Bureau
	A Montana Highway Patrol trooper must complete this section.

	Plate Number: 
	Plate Year of Issuance: 
	Tab Number: 
	Tab Year of Issuance: 
	1950 may display a single plate Have both plates been inspected: Off
	Badge Number: 
	Date: 
	Plate Size: 
	Year: 
	MakeManufacturer: 
	Model: 
	Body StyleLength: 
	VehicleVessel Identification Number: 
	Title Number: 
	Color: 
	Vehicle Owner print name: 
	Street Address: 
	City: 
	State: 
	Zip Code: 
	Date_2: 
	Printed Name of Seller: 
	Date_3: 
	Printed Name of Applicant: 
	DLFEINTribal IDCorp ID: 
	Plate Colors: 
	Tab Colors: 
	MHP Trooper Name: 
	Seller: 
	Buyer: 
	y: Off
	n: Off


