
 

 
 
 
 
 

Title and Registration Bureau 

Montana Salvage Receipt 
Fee: $5.00  

Make checks payable to State of Montana Of
fic

e U
se
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nly

 

1003 Buckskin Drive, Deer Lodge, MT 59722-2375      Phone (406) 444-3661   Fax (406) 846-6039      mvdtitleinfo@mt.gov    

Application for 
Salvage Certificate 

1.  I am the applicant making claim of ownership on the following motor vehicle to obtain a Salvage 
Certificate for that vehicle pursuant to Montana law. 

Business Name if Applicable 
 

DL/FEIN/Tribal ID/Corp ID* 

Legal Name of Applicant if Individual 
 
 

Driver License Number 
 

2. Residential or Business Address 
 
 

City 
 

State 
 

Zip Code 
 

4. County of Residence 
 
 

3. Mailing Address 
 
 

City 
 

State 
 

Zip Code 
 

Vehicle 
Description 

5. Vehicle 
Identification 
Number  

6. Year 
 
 

7. Make 
 

8. Model 
 

 9. Body Style 10. Color 

When OUT-OF-STATE title info is 
available, complete fields 11-14: 

11. Out-of-State Title No. 
 

12. Title Date 13. Issuing State 

14. Out-of-State Registered Owner’s Name and Address 

Certification of Salvage Vehicle by INSURER 
  

• I certify that the vehicle described above meets the definition of a salvage vehicle.  
• I hereby do sell, transfer, and deliver the above-referenced vehicle to the applicant listed above 
• If a certificate of ownership (i.e., title) is not surrendered with this application, I further certify that I have made two 

attempts to obtain the certificate of ownership from the current titled and registered owner. 
• The security interest release (if applicable) and the conforming odometer statement (9 years and newer) must be 

submitted.  
Certification of Salvage Vehicle by APPLICANT 

  

• I certify that the vehicle described above has been deemed a salvage vehicle by the insurer.  
• I have purchased the above-referenced vehicle and I am named as applicant above.  
Odometer Certification  
Federal law requires you to state the mileage in connection with the transfer of ownership. Failure to complete or providing 
a false statement may result in fines and/or imprisonment. 
I state that this  5 or  6 digit odometer now reads  (no tenths) miles, date read   
and to the best of my knowledge that it reflects the actual mileage UNLESS one of the following statements is 
checked: 
STOP!  DO NOT check one of the following unless it applies. 

 I hereby certify that the odometer reading reflects the amount of mileage IN EXCESS OF ITS MECHANICAL LIMITS. 
 I hereby certify that the odometer reading is not the actual mileage. WARNING – ODOMETER DISCREPANCY. 

Signature Certification 
 

Auction Stamp 

• I certify that I agree to the applicable certification section above (Insurer or Applicant). 
• I certify that I have read and agree to the odometer certification.  
• I have compared the vehicle identification number shown on this application with the 

vehicle identification number affixed to the vehicle and they agree. 
• Under penalty of law (MCA 45-7-203), I certify that the statements made and 

information contained on this form are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, 
information, and belief; I am the person named in section one of this form; and, if 
signing for a business entity or trust, I have full authority to do so. 

If the vehicle was sold through a Montana 
auction, place the auction stamp here: 

    
Applicant’s Legal Signature (Only one signature is required) Printed Name of Applicant 
 

    
Signature of Insurance Company Representative  Printed Name of Insurance Company Representative 

Dated this   day of  , 20  Insurance Company Use Only - Check if COPY:  
*DL=Driver License No.; FEIN=Federal Employee Identification No.; Tribal ID=Tribal Identification Card No.; Corp ID=Corporate Identification No. 

Montana county and state authorities reserve the right to reject any form that has been altered. 
MV203 (4/14) This form is available in alternate formats for people with disabilities. 
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