
Montana VINE Service
Information & Notification for  

Offender Custody Status

Write down the following information, tear 
off this panel, and keep in a safe place:

___________________________________________ 
Offender name

___________________________________________ 
Offender number
 
___________________________________________ 
Your email address
 
___________________________________________ 
Your phone/text message number(s)

___________________________________________ 
Your four-digit PIN

MONTANA VICTIM RIGHTS
If you are a victim of a felony crime in  
Montana, the law guarantees you the right to 
information about those responsible, starting 
with arrest and continuing until the offender 
serves his or her sentence.

You are entitled to participate in decisions 
that affect your safety and wellbeing, such as 
plea bargains or a suspect’s release on bond. 
To exercise these rights, you must provide  
current contact information to law  
enforcement, the county attorney  
(prosecutor) and the Department of  
Corrections (DOC).

You are responsible for notifying these  
agencies if you change your address or phone 
number. For more information about victim 
rights, visit the DOC website at  
www.cor.mt.gov/victims/ or call victim  
services at (888) 223-6332.

VINE is an automated service that allows you to 
track an offender’s custody status over the phone or 
Internet. You can register to be notified by phone, text 
and/or email if an offender is released, transferred, or 
escapes.

VINE Facts:

www.vinelink.com

1-800-456-3076
TTY: 1-866-847-1298

•	 Since VINE calls automatically when an offender’s 
custody status changes, you may get a call from 
VINE in the middle of the night.

•	 Write down your PIN and keep it in a safe place. 
For safety reasons, do not share this information 
with others.

•	 If you do not answer a notification call, VINE will 
leave a message and will continue calling back 
until you enter your PIN or until up to 24 hours 
have passed. 

•	 Do not register a phone number that rings to a 
switchboard.

•	 You can register multiple phone numbers and 
email addresses for notifications.

•	 If you forget your PIN, call the toll-free number 
and press zero. You will be transferred to an 
operator who can help you reset your PIN or 
cancel notification.

•	 Operators are available 24 hours a day, seven 
days a week to assist you. 

IMPORTANT!

IF YOUR PHONE NUMBER OR EMAIL CHANGES, IT 
IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY to call VINE at  
1-800-456-3076 or go to www.vinelink.com and 
follow the instructions on how to change your 
phone, text or email registration. Unless you make 
such changes, VINE will be unable to contact you 
when necessary.

A service provided by:
Montana Department of Corrections 

www.cor.mt.gov

Do not rely solely on 
VINE for your safety.

If you feel you are in 
danger, call 911.
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Victims have the 
right to know.



MONTANA VINE SERVICE

Montana Department of Corrections
Victim Programs
1-888-223-6332

Restitution Collection
1-800-801-3478

Board of Pardons and Parole
(405) 846-1404

Montana State Prison (men)
(406) 846-1320 ext. 2201

Montana Women’s Prison
(406) 247-5102

Montana Department of Justice
Office of Victim Services
(406) 444-1907 
 Crime Victim Compensation Program
1-800-498-6455
 Sexual or Violent Offender Registry
https://doj.mt.gov/svor/

VICTIM RESOURCES

Montana VINE Service
1-800-456-3076 |  TTY: 1-866-847-1298

www.vinelink.com

INFORMATION

Call 1-800-456-3076 or visit www.vinelink.com and 
follow the instructions to information about an 
offender’s custody status.

REGISTRATION

If the offender is under DOC supervision, you can 
register to receive notifications related to custody 
status. You must register separately for each type of 
notification.

If registering a phone number, you will be asked to 
create a four-digit personal identification number 
(PIN) that will be used to confirm that the call or text 
was received. Make sure your PIN is easy to remember.

To register your email address, either call VINE and 
press zero to speak with an operator or visit 
www.vinelink.com. Email notifications do not require 
a PIN.

NOTIFICATION 
 
Once you are registered, VINE will notify you of  
offender status changes, such as:

•	 Release from supervision

•	 Location or custody status change

•	 Escape or abscond

•	 Death while under supervision

•	 Probation/parole information

•	 Sentence review hearings

Search for “VINELink”
from your mobile device app store.

MONTANA DEPARTMENT OF 
CORRECTION (DOC)  

VICTIM SERVICES 
Toll-free (888) 223-6332

VICTIM REGISTRATION. VINE is anonymous. Your  
offender will not know you are registered. Call  
(888) 223-6332 for assistance.

RESTITUTION. DOC collects court ordered  
restitution from adult felony offenders and  
disburses it to crime victims. If the sentencing judge 
ordered victim restitution but you have not received 
payments, call the DOC Collections Unit at  
(800) 801-3478.

VICTIM IMPACT PANELS. DOC encourages victim 
participation in victim impact panels operated at 
secure facilities, prerelease centers, treatment  
centers and community panels to speak with  
offenders about the ripple effects of crime.  This 
sharing helps victims heal and offenders take  
responsibility for their crimes.

VICTIM OFFENDER DIALOGUE (VOD). DOC  
provides victims an opportunity to meet with their 
offenders face-to-face to discuss the crime in a safe 
setting. VOD is voluntary for offenders and occurs 
at the victim’s request after extensive preparation 
with trained facilitators. 

OFFENDER ACCOUNTABILITY LETTERS.  
Offenders who accept responsibility for their crimes 
sometimes write apologies to their victims, which 
are screened and filed at DOC until those victims 
ask to receive them. 


