
Visit GCD 
Gambling Control Division’s website provides 
frequently asked questions, gambling guides, sports 
pool templates, forms for reporting, MT gambling 
statutes & rules, TransAction Portal (TAP) tutorials and 
more at: dojmt.gov/gaming/

Report to the Division 
Within their first 30 days, all new officers are required 
to report their status formally with a Business Statement 
(Form 30), either by going online in the TransAction 
Portal (TAP) or by submitting it with required documents 
and fees as listed on Form 30 found on our website.

Assign a Location Manager 
All licensees must designate a location manager. This 
person provides general oversight and ensures 
compliance with gambling laws and regulations. Use 
Form 30A to report at least one location manager, 
or more if applicable, within 30 days of the manager 
assuming his or her managerial duties. (Note: Formal 
training periods do not count against 30 days.) The des-
ignee may be an existing officer but must be officially 
reported to the Department as a location manager.

Utilize Resources
As a licensed gambling operation, a fraternal or veter-
ans organization is responsible for knowing about the 
laws, rules, and resources regarding:
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Ensure gambling compliance. 

Utilize resources.

•	 After-hours gambling 
•	 Card Dealers 
•	 Card Tournaments
•	 Credit Gambling
•	 Problem Gambling Resources
•	 Shake-A-Days 
•	 Sports Pools & Templates
•	 VGM Ticket Forgery Protection and more
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Ask For Help 
•	 Call (406) 444-1971
•	 Email gcd@mt.gov
•	 Write PO Box 201424, Helena, MT 59620-1424
•	 Visit 2550 Prospect Ave, Helena, MT 59601



•	Apply for Special Permits
Permits are required for bingo, Calcutta  pools, 
card tables, card tournaments, keno, and VGMs. All 
permits are available on TAP as well as on the GCD 
website.

•	Annually Renew Licenses
Renew gambling operator licenses online on TAP prior 
to June 30th (fiscal year end).

•	Pay VGM Taxes 
Video Gambling Machine taxes must be paid quarterly 
by the 15th of the month following quarter-end. Refer 
to the TAP user guide on our website or call (406) 444-
1971 for technical assistance.

•	Report VGM Meters
VGM meters are required to be submitted for every 
machine no less than once every two weeks for Tier 2 
reporting and daily for Tier 1 reporting. Refer to the 
TAP user guide on our website or call (406) 444-1971 
for technical assistance.

https://tap.dor.mt.gov
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Helpful Links
Anonymous Tip Reporting 
https://dojmt.gov/gaming/anonymous-tip-reporting/

FAQs
https://dojmt.gov/gaming/frequently-asked-questions/

Forms
https://dojmt.gov/gaming/forms/

Guides and Templates
https://dojmt.gov/gaming/guides-and-templates/

Montana Administrative Rules 
http://mtrules.org/default.asp 

Montana Code Annotated
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/index.html

Visit TAP (TransAction Portal) at:

https://dojmt.gov/gaming/guides-and-templates/

