Tobacco Enforcement Program
PO Box 200151
Helena, MT 59620-0151

Phone: (406) 444-2026
Fax:  (406) 442-1894

E-mail: contactdoj@mt.gov

Montana Department of Justice
Reporting Requirements for All
Licensed Montana Tobacco Wholesalers

All Licensed Montana Tobacco Wholesalers are required to file
with the Montana Attorney General the Wholesaler Reporting
Form by the 15th day of each month. The report is due
beginning the first month after the Wholesaler receives its
license from the Department of Revenue (DOR). Mont. Code
Ann. § 16-11-507 and Admin. R. Mont. 23.18.207.

Timely Wholesaler Reporting must be filed every month,
including months in which reported sales are “zero”.

The Montana Tobacco Wholesaler may file its report via fax,
electronic mail, or postal mail.

If you do not file by the 20th day of the month, you will be
fined $50 per day up to a maximum of $1,000 until the report
is filed. Admin. R. Mont. 23.18.208.

The DOJ Tobacco Wholesaler Reporting requirement is separate
and in addition to any documents it may be required to file with
the DOR, or any other state agency.

The Montana Tobacco Wholesaler must provide retail sales
invoices and purchase invoices for Non-Participating
Manufacturers (NPM) sales each month and upon request by
the Attorney General’s Office. The Wholesaler must maintain all
invoices and documents of sales of NPM or Participating
Manufacturers (PM) tobacco products for five (5) years. Mont.
Code Ann. § 16-11-507(1).

State law requires that a Montana Tobacco Wholesaler provide
and update immediately any electronic mail address to the
Attorney General’s Office for the purpose of receiving timely
notices of Tobacco Directory updates. Mont. Code Ann.

§ 16-11-504(5).

Contact the Tobacco Enforcement Program Staff with any questions
prior to obtaining a tobacco wholesaler license.
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