Dealer License Instructions

Title and Registration Bureau

1003 Buckskin Drive, Deer Lodge, MT 59722-2375 @ Phone (406) 444-3661 Fax (406) 846-6039 e dojdealerinfo@mt.gov

The forms required to apply for a dealer license are indicated below. Also refer to Form MV22, an
informational letter that contains information for complying with laws governing the business.

It is advised that you keep the informational letter (MVV22) for your files.

Check off items below before submittin our paperwork to the Title and Reqgistration Bureau

(TRB).

[ ] Complete and sign the Dealer License Application (MV25) - all sections must be completed Submit a
copy of the government-issued ID or tribal ID for all owners or corporate officers; corporate officers
may have day-to-day responsibility for running the corporation.

[] complete the Dealer Plate Order (MV35P) and remit your fees.
= Only dealers applying for a New and/or Used license are eligible for dealer plates.
= Dealer plates must be used in a set and only on motorized vehicles.
Dealer and/or demonstrator plates will be shipped approximately three weeks after the license is issued.

All plates are based upon the sales made during the expiring license term.

[ ] contact the Montana Highway Patrol, local law enforcement agency, or Compliance Specialist for an
inspection of the business premises and completion of the Dealer Inspection form (MV105).

[ ] Obtain a dealer surety bond:

e In the amount of $50,000 if you are selling New or Used Vehicles (includes cars, trucks,
rugged terrain, vans, buses, trailers, motor homes and special mobile equipment).

e In the amount of $50,000 if you are a Wholesale dealer, Auto Auction, or Broker.
¢ In the amount of $15,000 if you are selling street legal motorcycles or quadricycles.

¢ In the amount of $5,000 if you are selling snowmobile, boat (includes personal watercraft)
off-highway motorcycles, or quadricycles (includes quadricycle-like vehicles).

e In the full business name and full DBA name with the business physical address.

e Listing the license type you are applying for: New Vehicle Dealer, Used Vehicle Dealer or
Wholesale dealer, Auto Auction, or Broker.

¢ Showing an expiration date of December 31 of the current license year that you are applying for.

-See page 2-

Montana state authorities reserve the right to reject any form that has been altered.
MV32 (8/16) — Page 1 This form is available in alternate formats for people with disabilities.
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L] All dealers (except Brokers) must obtain a copy of their Certificate of Liability insurance, which may
include garage liability depending on your business needs. The liability insurance must be in the
full business name and physical address. The State of Montana at 1003 Buckskin Drive must be
shown as certificate holder.

[ ] All dealers must obtain proof of compliance with local land-use planning, zoning and business-
permitting requirements which must include:

e Written verification signed by an authorized representative of the zoning board

If selling new vehicles, the franchise sales and service agreement information must be shown on the
dealer application.

[ ] Return all of the forms listed above with the necessary fees.
Upon receipt of this paperwork, the department will consider the establishment for licensure. It takes

approximately three weeks for approval of a license. Upon approval, plates will be ordered and sent
approximately three weeks after the license is received.

Read carefully and complete all forms.

e Any forms that are not completed properly or that do not have the correct fees submitted will be
returned which may cause a delay in receiving your license and plates. Please contact the TRB if
you have any questions.
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