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A person may not engage in the business of buying, selling, exchanging, accepting on consignment, or acting
as a broker of a manufactured home that is not titled in the person's name unless the person is the holder of a
manufactured home dealer's license issued by the department.

This section does not apply to a person buying, selling, exchanging, accepting on consignment, or acting as a
broker of a used manufactured home that is not titled in the person's name (MCA 61-12-901).

Laws and regulations for Montana New Manufactured Home dealers can be found at:
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/61/12/61-12-901.htm

Assigned to dealers authorized to sell any new manufactured home that is covered under a franchise
agreement between the licensee and the manufacturer, importer, or distributor of the manufactured home;
sell any used manufactured home; negotiate the purchase, sale, or exchange of a manufactured home from
another licensed dealer or another person on behalf of a client when the licensee does not store, display, or
take ownership of the manufactured home purchased, sold, or exchanged.

A license under this section does not apply to a person buying selling, exchanging, accepting on consignment,
or acting as a broker of a used manufactured home that is not titled in the person’s name.

+ A “manufactured home” means a residential dwelling built in a factory in accordance with the United
States Department of Housing and Urban Development Code and the federal Manufactured Home
Construction and Safety Standards. The term does not include a mobile home or housetrailer as defined
in MCA 15-24-201.

To be qualified for licensure as a dealer, an applicant must have and/or provide to the department
the following:

« A written application for a manufactured home dealer license on a form prescribed by the department.
Any information provided in the license application process is subject to independent verification by the
department.

« A permanent non-residential building where sales are made, records are kept and a lot where a
minimum of two double-wide units can be displayed.

« A sign stating the name of the business and indicating that manufactured homes are offered for sale,
trade or consignment. The letters of the sign must be at least six inches in height and clearly visible and
readable to the major avenue of traffic at a minimum distance of 150 feet.

« A bond in the amount of $50,000 is required. The original bond must be submitted for approval to the
department, showing an expiration date of September 30 of the current license year, and must be
renewed annually.

« Evidence of compliance with all city/county requirements, as evidenced by written verification signed by
the authorized representative of the local land-use or zoning board.

« Telephone service at the established place of business must be installed and maintained in the
dealership's name and listed in the directory assistance that applies to the area in which the business is
located.

« Written notice, conspicuously posted at the established place of business, of the regular and customary
office hours.

« Original license and application fee of $51.50 (fee includes 3% administration fee per MCA 61-3-111).

« When all requirements are met, contact the Montana highway patrol, compliance officer, or
local law enforcement agency for completion of the inspection form.

New Manufactured Home Dealers must submit a renewal application and bond or continuation
certificate for their renewal quarter each year. Refer to the renewal schedule to determine
when the renewal application and fee must be submitted.

MV22MD (10/19) Montana State authorities reserve the right to reject any form that has been altered.
Upon request, this form can be made available in an alternate format.
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The forms required to apply for a manufactured home dealer license are indicated below.

e For additional information refer to Form MV22MD, an informational letter that
contains information for complying with laws governing the business. Forms can be
found on the state website at: https://dojmt.gov/driving/dealers-forms/

It is advised that you keep the informational letter for your files.

Check off items below to ensure submission of a completed report. Do not submit
the instruction pages with the application (when mailing or faxing). It is for your
records.

[] Complete and sign the dealer application (MV25MD) - all sections must be completed
and all owners must sign. If signing for a corporation, the person designated as the
manager must sign. Submit a copy of the government-issued ID or tribal ID for all owners.

[] Contact the Montana Highway Patrol, local law enforcement agency, or Compliance
Specialist for an inspection of the business premises and completion of the inspection form
(MV105MD).

[] Obtain a dealer surety bond. The effect of the bond must be continuously effective:
e In the amount of $50,000.
e In the full business name (including full DBA name, if applicable) with the
business physical address.
e The license type must indicate: Manufactured Home Dealer

[ ] All dealers must obtain proof of compliance with local land-use planning, zoning
and business-permitting requirements which must include:
e Written verification signed by an authorized representative of the zoning board.
e Business street address

[ ] Return all of the forms listed above with the necessary fees.

Upon receipt of this paperwork, the department will consider the establishment for licensure.
It takes approximately three weeks for approval of a license.

Read carefully and complete all forms.

Any forms that are not completed properly or that do not have the correct fees submitted
will be returned, which may cause a delay in receiving your license. Please contact the VSB if
you have any questions.

Montana state authorities reserve the right to reject any form that has been altered
MV32MD (10/19) This form is available in alternate formats for people with disabilities
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A manufactured home dealer is authorized to sell any new manufactured home that is covered under a
franchise agreement, or any used manufactured home, and to negotiate the purchase, sale, or exchange
of a manufactured home.

Application fee: $51.50 (fee includes 3% administration fee per MCA 61-3-111).

Business Name:

Section A: Business Information

Dealer License #

City:

DBA Name (if applicable):

Business Street Address:

County: State: Zip:

Mailing Address:

City:

County: State: Zip:

Phone Number:

Business Phone Number (must be listed with directory assistance):

*Business' License Liaison:

Federal Tax or Corporate ID Number:

Fax Number:

Email:

Alternate Email:

“Indicate the person to act as the business' point of contact in matters involving the license application or other licensing concerns.

Section B: Ownership Information

State the full legal name, home address, date of birth, social security number, and driver license number or tribal
identification number of each person who has an ownership interest in the dealership. If the licensee is a
corporation, the same information for the corporate officers must be provided, indicating capacity. Corporate
officers may have day-to-day responsibility for running the corporation. If there are additional owners or
corporate officers a copy of this page must be used. Please type or print.

Full Legal Name
(as shown on your
government-issued ID)

Driver License or
Tribal ID No.
(submit a copy)

Residential & Mailing
Address
(street/city/state/zip)

Date of Birth Social Security No. Corporate Capacity

]

Felo|uyj|ackg ro|
Yes No

:» Has the individual listed above been found guilty of, or pled guilty to, a felony in Montana or elsewhere?

any court proceedings relating to conduct and name and address of court. Conduct Results:

If yes, provide a summary of the conduct resulting in the felony determination or plea, including dates of conduct and

Full Legal Name
(as shown on your
government-issued ID)

Driver License or
Tribal ID No.
(submit a copy)

Residential & Mailing
Address
(street/city/state/zip)

Date of Birth Social Security No. Corporate Capacity

2. |

Fel ckgr
Yes, No

= Has the individual listed above been found guilty of, or pled guilty to, a felony in Montana or elsewhere?

any court proceedings relating to conduct and name and address of court. Conduct Results:

If yes, provide a summary of the conduct resulting in the felony determination or plea, including dates of conduct and

Full Legal Name
(as shown on your
government-issued ID)

Driver License or
Tribal ID No.
(submit a copy)

Residential & Mailing
Address
(street/city/state/zip)

Date of Birth Social Security No. Corporate Capacity

3. |

Feloryjfckgro
Yes, No

: Has the individual listed above been found guilty of, or pled guilty to, a felony in Montana or elsewhere?

any court proceedings relating to conduct and name and address of court. Conduct Results:

If yes, provide a summary of the conduct resulting in the felony determination or plea, including dates of conduct and

MV25MD (10/19) Page 1 of 2

Montana state authorities reserve the right to reject any form that has been altered.
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Section C: Person Designated to Manage the Business

If a person other than the owners or corporate officers listed above is designated to manage the business,
complete this section. Please type or print.

Full Legal Name . . - Driver License or Tribal
Residential & Mailing Address . . .
(as shown on your (street/city/state/zip) Date of Birth Social Security No. II? No.
government-issued 1D) (submit a copy)

Felo ckgroni,n_d_;_ras the individual listed above been found guilty of, or pled guilty to, a felony in Montana or elsewhere?
Yes No If yes, provide a summary of the conduct resulting in the felony determination or plea, including dates of conduct and any
court proceedings relating to conduct and name and address of court. Conduct Results:

Section D: Certification

| hereby certify under penalty of law (MCA 45-7-203 Unsworn Falsification to
Authorities) that on this date :

. | am the person named on this form

e The statements made and information contained on this form are true and correct to the best of my knowledge,
information and belief

. If signing for a business entity or trust, | have full authority to do so

. | authorize the insurance company to release all general liability insurance policy information to the state of Montana,
Vehicle Services Bureau

e My name, as it appears above, is intended for the purposes of this document to be my genuine signature and
acknowledgment of this form.

e Applicant agrees to comply with the provisions of the Mont. Code Ann., and rules and regulations promulgated
thereunder applicable to motor vehicle dealers, distributors and manufacturers in effect on the date of this Application.

. Electronically sign here to submit via email...........ccocovviiiiiinnns

Electronic signature of owner/corporate officer

e  Or sign below if scanning, faxing, or mailing form.

Signature of owner/corporate officer (If corporate officer, give title) (This is my legal signature) Date

Montana state authorities reserve the right to reject any form that has been altered.
MV25MD (10/19) Page 2 of 2 This form is available in alternate formats for people with disabilities.
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