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A person may not engage in the business of buying, selling, exchanging, accepting on consignment, or acting 

as a broker of a manufactured home that is not titled in the person's name unless the person is the holder of a 

manufactured home dealer's license issued by the department.  

This section does not apply to a person buying, selling, exchanging, accepting on consignment, or acting as a 

broker of a used manufactured home that is not titled in the person's name (MCA 61-12-901). 

Laws and regulations for Montana New Manufactured Home dealers can be found at: 

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/61/12/61-12-901.htm  

Assigned to dealers authorized to sell any new manufactured home that is covered under a franchise 

agreement between the licensee and the manufacturer, importer, or distributor of the manufactured home; 

sell any used manufactured home; negotiate the purchase, sale, or exchange of a manufactured home from 

another licensed dealer or another person on behalf of a client when the licensee does not store, display, or 

take ownership of the manufactured home purchased, sold, or exchanged.  

A license under this section does not apply to a person buying selling, exchanging, accepting on consignment, 

or acting as a broker of a used manufactured home that is not titled in the person’s name.  

 A “manufactured home” means a residential dwelling built in a factory in accordance with the United

States Department of Housing and Urban Development Code and the federal Manufactured Home

Construction and Safety Standards. The term does not include a mobile home or housetrailer as defined

in MCA 15-24-201.

To be qualified for licensure as a dealer, an applicant must have and/or provide to the department 

the following: 

 A written application for a manufactured home dealer license on a form prescribed by the department.

Any information provided in the license application process is subject to independent verification by the

department.

 A permanent non-residential building where sales are made, records are kept and a lot where a

minimum of two double-wide units can be displayed.

 A sign stating the name of the business and indicating that manufactured homes are offered for sale,

trade or consignment. The letters of the sign must be at least six inches in height and clearly visible

and readable to the major avenue of traffic at a minimum distance of 150 feet.

 A bond in the amount of $50,000 is required. The original bond must be submitted for approval to the

department, showing an expiration date of September 30 of the current license year, and must be

renewed annually.

 Evidence of compliance with all city/county requirements, as evidenced by written verification signed by

the authorized representative of the local land-use or zoning board.

 Telephone service at the established place of business must be installed and maintained in the

dealership's name and listed in the directory assistance that applies to the area in which the business is

located.

 Written notice, conspicuously posted at the established place of business, of the regular and customary

office hours.

 Original license and application fee of $50.

 When all requirements are met, contact the Montana highway patrol, compliance officer, or

local law enforcement agency for completion of the inspection form.

 Manufactured Home Dealer License Instructions (MV32MD) are available online at

https://dojmt.gov/driving/dealers-forms/.

New Manufactured Home Dealers must submit a renewal application and bond or continuation 

certificate on or before September 30th of each year. 
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