
 

 

 

DYED FUEL 

Montana State law currently allows for 

the use of dyed fuel used in SM 

equipment, but does not address the 

federal highway tax. 

SM equipment operators are 

encouraged to contact both the State 

of Montana & the Federal IRS for 

regulations pertaining to use of dyed 

fuel in your equipment. 

Report Fuel Tax Evasion: 

1.888.383.5529 (1.888.FUEL LAW) 

1st offense 

up to $1,000.00 

 

2nd offense 

up to $5,000.00 

 

 

This brochure is provided to help the 

owner or driver understand how safety 

laws & regulations may apply when 

operating SM stickered vehicles on State 

roadways. 

 

Motor Carrier Safety Program 
Jeff Steeger 

406.444.4207 
jsteeger@mt.gov 

 
Motor Carrier Services 

406.444.6130 

 

 

2701 Prospect Ave 

PO Box 201001 

Helena, MT 59620-1001 

Tel 406.444.6200 

Fax 406.444.7685 

 

 

TTY: 800.335.7592 

 

 

  

[Future Solutions Now] 

OWNERS & OPERATORS 

OF SPECIAL MOBILE 

EQUIPMENT 

 

Do you or your employees drive a 
vehicle with a SM sticker? 

 

Did you know Commercial Motor Vehicle 
Safety Regulations & Laws could apply 
to these vehicles? 

 

Over Sized & Over Weight Rules also 
apply to these vehicles! 

 

 

MDT attempts to provide reasonable 

accommodations for any known disability that 

may interfere with a person participating in any 

service, program or activity of the department. 

Alternative accessible formats of this document 

will be provided upon request. For further 

information, call 406.444.6333 (voice) or 

406.444.7696 (TTY). 

mailto:jsteeger@mt.gov


 

 

SM vehicles considered as off-road 

construction equipment are NOT 

regulated by FMCSR safety 

regulations & may be operated with a 

regular Class D driver’s license. 

Examples: motor scrapers, backhoes, 
motor graders, compactors, tractors, 
trenchers, bulldozers & railroad track 

maintenance cranes. 

 

 

      

 

Important information for you the driver 

or owner of these vehicle(s) to 

understand, the sticker or registration 

on a vehicle does not determine how a 

vehicle is regulated. 

 

Safety regulations & laws are in place 

to help protect the traveling public 

based on the size of the vehicle, design 

& if the vehicle is in commerce. 

 

Regardless of how a vehicle is 

registered, vehicles meeting the 

definition of a commercial motor vehicle 

as defined in Montana Code Annotated 

61-1-101 & 61-10-154 must be 

operated in compliance of safety 

regulations & laws including displaying 

a DOT number, while operating on 

Montana’s roadways. 

 

This also means if these vehicles have 

a GVWR or GCWR over 26,001 pounds 

a CDL is required to operate the vehicle 

on Montana roadways per State law 

MCA 61-5-102. 

 

If oversize &/or overweight, permits are 

required for the operation of SM 

equipment when on public highways. 

 

SM registrations expire December 31. A 

grace period is allowed until February 

15 only if displaying the previous years’ 

registration sticker. 

 

Vehicles that might qualify for SM 

registration, however due to their 

design & use are required to follow 

FMCSR safety regulations. 

 

Well Boring Apparatus 

 
 

Log Loader 

 

Mobile Crane 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


